Determined to keep abreast of affairs throughout the country, President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyon has installed a 'situation room' at the Presidential Palace. (Antara Photo/Widodo S. Jusuf)

“ … Here is another one. A change in what Human nature will allow for government. "Careful, Kryon, don't talk about politics. You'll get in trouble." I won't get in trouble. I'm going to tell you to watch for leadership that cares about you. "You mean politics is going to change?" It already has. It's beginning. Watch for it. You're going to see a total phase-out of old energy dictatorships eventually. The potential is that you're going to see that before 2013.

They're going to fall over, you know, because the energy of the population will not sustain an old energy leader ..."
"Update on Current Events" – Jul 23, 2011 (Kryon channelled by Lee Carroll) - (Subjects: The Humanization of God, Gaia, Shift of Human Consciousness, 2012, Benevolent Design, Financial Institutes (Recession, System to Change ...), Water Cycle (Heat up, Mini Ice Ace, Oceans, Fish, Earthquakes ..), Nuclear Power Revealed, Geothermal Power, Hydro Power, Drinking Water from Seawater, No need for Oil as Much, Middle East in Peace, Persia/Iran Uprising, Muhammad, Israel, DNA, Two Dictators to fall soon, Africa, China, (Old) Souls, Species to go, Whales to Humans, Global Unity,..... etc.)
(Subjects: Who/What is Kryon ?, Egypt Uprising, Iran/Persia Uprising, Peace in Middle East without Israel actively involved, Muhammad, "Conceptual" Youth Revolution, "Conceptual" Managed Business, Internet, Social Media, News Media, Google, Bankers, Global Unity,..... etc.)

Tuesday, October 05, 2010

Mayors win antigraft award

The Jakarta Post, Jakarta | Tue, 10/05/2010 9:54 AM

The Yogyakarta municipal administration under Mayor Herry Zudianto and Surakarta Mayor Joko Widodo has won the 2010 Bung Hatta Anti-Corruption Award, the panel of judges announced Monday.

The two winners beat 36 other candidates in the selection rounds that took about six weeks.

Zoemrotin K. Susilo, on the judges’ panel, said that both Joko and Herry had succeeded in building transparent systems in their regional administrations.

“They tried to establish transparent budgeting and one-stop public service centers, which have resulted in efficiency,” Zoemrotin said.

One of Herry’s efforts, she said, was to issue a mayoral decree stipulating that the municipal administration would provide schools with an additional budget allocation to eradicate “illegal fees” imposed on students.

“Previously the municipal administration received a lot of reports about the illegal fees. With the issuance of the decree, he tried to respond to the problem and overcome corruption,” she added.
The other winner, Joko, succeeded in handling street vendors in a humane way, Zoemrotin said.

“The municipal administration always communicated with the street vendors instead of just evicting them as is commonly seen in other cities. Joko made a good approach by moving the vendors into strategic business locations and they only had to pay daily retribution fees,” Zoemrotin said.

“Doing this, he has shown that it is not low-income people who should be treated as enemies, but poverty itself,” she added.

According to Zoemrotin, the judges evaluated the nominees based on their credibility, commitment to corruption eradication, and their new systems, along with the impacts. “For example, the reform that Herry initiated has changed the people’s perception of corruption in Yogyakarta. We can also see his breakthroughs in the regulations and their impacts,” she said.

The Bung Hatta Anti-Corruption Award Foundation was established in 2003. It first granted the award to the late Moh. Yamin, Syamsul Qomar, Erry Riyana Hardjapamekas and Karaniya Dharmasaputra in 2003. In the following year, it honored Gamawan Fauzi and Saldi Isra.

After an absence of three years, the foundation issued the award again in 2008 with a focus on law and finance. The award went to former finance minister Sri Mulyani Indrawati, former Corruption Eradication Commission (KPK) deputy leader Amien Sunaryadi, and Judicial Commission chairman M. Busyro Muqoddas.

Natalia Soebagjo, the chairwoman of the foundation that grants the award, said that the 2010 award focused on bureaucratic reform and delivery of public services. “The goal of corruption eradication is to improve public services to the people,” Natalia added.

The judges, Betti Alisjahbana, Zoemrotin, Eko Prasojo and Rikard Bagun, selected the two from eight names who passed two selection rounds. (lnd)

Related Article:

No comments: